Home >> Statutes >> Back

Click to open printable format in new window.Printable Format
 | Next

73-2502. Kansas commemorative coin design commission; membership; powers and duties; election to select final design, procedure. (a) There is established the Kansas commemorative coin design commission. The commission shall consist of 16 members, as follows:

(1) The members of the joint legislative committee on the arts and cultural resources;

(2) a member of the Kansas state historical society, selected by the members of the society;

(3) a member of the Kansas arts commission, selected by the members of the commission;

(4) a member of the Kansas humanities council, selected by the members of the council; and

(5) three members of the general public who shall be representative of the arts, selected by the governor. One of the members selected pursuant to this paragraph shall be knowledgeable of coin design or metal work.

(b) The chairperson of the joint legislative committee on the arts and cultural resources shall serve as chairperson of the commission. The commission shall meet on call of the chairperson or at the request of a majority of the members of the commission.

(c) The commission shall:

(1) Adopt procedures and guidelines for selection of the design concepts of the quarter dollar that is emblematic of the state of Kansas; such guidelines shall be consistent with the guidelines prescribed by the 50 states commemorative coin program act and shall be publicized by the commission;

(2) invite Kansans to submit design sketches for the Kansas commemorative quarter dollar that are broadly appealing to the citizens of the state and that maintain a dignity befitting the state's history and diversity. Each design sketch shall be accompanied by a narrative that explains why the concept is emblematic of the state and what the concept represents to the citizens of the state. The submission deadline shall be determined by the commission;

(3) review the design sketches and narratives submitted by Kansans and select five submissions as finalists in the design selection process; and

(4) forward only the selected narratives to the United States mint and collaborate with the United States mint in the preparation of artwork of the concepts.

(d) If more than one design candidate finalist is approved by the secretary of the treasury, the finalists shall be forwarded to the commission, which shall collaborate with the state board of education and the secretary of state in submission of the finalist designs to an election in which all students enrolled in public and accredited nonpublic high schools of the state may participate and by majority vote select the design for the Kansas commemorative quarter dollar that the commission shall submit to the governor. Such election shall be held no later than during the last week of April 2004. Such election may be conducted by internet ballot.

History: L. 2003, ch. 73, § 2; L. 2004, ch. 23, § 2; Apr. 8.

 | Next

Interim Assignments for ROS Staff
2021 New, Amended and Repealed Statutes

Information for Special Session 2020

9/27/2021 Meeting Notice Agenda
9/15/2021 Meeting Notice Agenda
8/5/2021 Meeting Notice Agenda
7/27/2021 Meeting Notice Agenda
7/15/2021 Meeting Notice Agenda
4/27/2021 Meeting Notice Agenda
4/1/2021 Meeting Notice Agenda
3/10/2021 Meeting Notice Agenda
12/30/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
11/19/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
9/16/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
4/2/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
3/29/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
3/27/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda
3/24/2020 Meeting Notice Agenda

LCC Policies

2020 Interim Committee Assignments
Chapter 72 Statute Transfer List
Kansas School Equity & Enhancement Act
Gannon v. State
General Information, Legal Analysis & Research
2020 Amended and Repealed Statutes
2019 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2018 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2017 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2016 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2015 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2014 Amended & Repealed Statutes
2013 Amended & Repealed Statutes

Session Laws

Kansas Legislature
Administrative Services
Division of Post Audit
Research Department